Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (107) posts »
 

Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee to Consider New Construction Roll Bill

Posted By Justin Ruen, Tuesday, February 14, 2017

On Wednesday, February 15 at 3:00 p.m. the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee will consider legislation that would impact the new construction roll for property tax levying purposes.  Cities that want to weigh in with comments or feedback should contact the committee members as soon as possible (see committee list below).

House Bill 83 is sponsored by Rep. Janet Trujillo, R-Idaho Falls.  The bill would provide that any reduction in taxable market value resulting from property that becomes exempt pursuant to chapters 6 and 45 of title 63, Idaho Code, in the five years immediately preceding the current tax year will be deducted from the new construction roll.  Properties that become exempt under the following Idaho Code sections would not be required to be deducted from the new construction roll: 63-602G (Homeowner’s Exemption), 63-602L (intangible personal property), 63-602W(2)(certain business inventory), 63-602X (Casualty Loss), 63-602AA (exceptional situations) and 63-602KK (business personal property).  The bill would also require local governments to deduct from their property tax budget an amount equal to the levy of the previous year multiplied by the value deducted from the new construction roll for each of the three tax years preceding the current tax year.

Any cities that believe House Bill 83 would have a meaningful impact on their budget should communicate their thoughts or concerns to the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee.  The committee members are listed below.

Sen. Dan G. Johnson, Lewiston, Chair:   djohnson@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Clifford R. Bayer, Meridian, Vice Chair:   cbayer@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Brent Hill, Rexburg:   bhill@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jeff C. Siddoway, Terreton:  jsiddoway@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim Rice, Caldwell:  jrice@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Steve Vick, Dalton Gardens:  sjvick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim L. Patrick, Twin Falls:  jpatrick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Grant Burgoyne, Boise:   gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Mark Nye, Pocatello:  mnye@senate.idaho.gov

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal