Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (107) posts »
 

City Officials Urged to Contact Senate Commerce Committee to Support Procurement Bill

Posted By Justin Ruen, Wednesday, February 15, 2017

On Thursday, February 16 at 1:30 p.m., the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee will consider AIC-supported legislation to strengthen local government procurement laws.

Senate Bill 1074, sponsored by Sen. Lori Den Hartog of Meridian, would make several important updates to local government procurement laws, including:

·         Clarifying that payment and performance bonds are required for public works construction contracts equal to or greater than $50,000;

·         Clarifying exemptions from competitive purchasing for public utilities, purchasing used equipment at auction, repair of heavy equipment, and procurement of software maintenance and support for an existing system or platform;

·         Updating procurement thresholds; and

·         Providing a Request for Proposals process for situations where a problem can be fixed by several potential approaches or to encourage innovative approaches to solving problems. 

Senate Bill 1074 was developed based on input from several stakeholder groups, including the Idaho Public Purchasing Association, Association of Idaho Cities, Idaho Association of Counties, Idaho Association of Highway Districts, Idaho Associated General Contractors, and American Council of Engineering Companies of Idaho.

We strongly urge city officials to contact members of the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee as soon as possible and respectfully ask for their support of Senate Bill 1074.  The committee members are listed below.

Sen. Jim L. Patrick, Twin Falls, Chair:   jpatrick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim Guthrie, Inkom, Vice Chair:   jguthrie@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Fred S. Martin, Boise:  fmartin@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Todd M. Lakey, Nampa:   tlakey@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Steven P. Thayn, Emmett:   sthayn@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Mary Souza, Coeur d’Alene:   msouza@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Kelly Arthur Anthon, Burley:  kanthon@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking, Boise:   jwardengelking@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Grant Burgoyne, Boise:  gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

 

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal