Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (102) posts »
 

City Officials Asked to Contact Senate Committee to Support Bill Updating City Treasurer Laws

Posted By Justin Ruen, Tuesday, March 7, 2017

On Wednesday, March 8 the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee will consider AIC-supported legislation that modernizes provisions of state law concerning the responsibilities of the city treasurer. 

We ask city officials to contact members of the committee (listed below) to respectfully ask for their support of House Bill 130.

Idaho Code 50-208 currently requires the city treasurer to make a monthly report to the city council, under oath, showing the state of the treasury, as well as a statement of all receipts and disbursements, and all warrants redeemed and paid.  If the treasurer fails to make this report within 10 days of the end of the month, then the city treasurer position is vacated.  This code section was originally adopted in the 1920s and has not been updated in a meaningful way since that time.

House Bill 130 will give the treasurer 60 days after the end of the month to make the report, and it will no longer be required to be a sworn statement.  The bill clarifies that the quarterly treasurer’s report must be delivered at a city council meeting not more than 30 days after the end of each quarter. 

The bill also provides that provisions of the Public Depository Law requiring a Treasurer’s Monthly Report only apply if there is not another code section that requires a treasurer’s report for the political subdivision (cities already have such a requirement, so it would not apply to cities). 

House Bill 130 will modernize archaic provisions of law relating to the responsibilities of the city treasurer and we are pleased to work with Rep. Luke Malek and Rep. Paul Amador of Coeur d’Alene on this important bill. 

We ask city officials to contact members of the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee and respectfully ask for their support of House Bill 130.  The committee members and their emails are listed below.

Sen. Dan G. Johnson, Lewiston, Chair:   djohnson@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Clifford R. Bayer, Meridian, Vice Chair:   cbayer@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Brent Hill, Rexburg:   bhill@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jeff C. Siddoway, Terreton:  jsiddoway@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim Rice, Caldwell:  jrice@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Steve Vick, Dalton Gardens:  sjvick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim L. Patrick, Twin Falls:  jpatrick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Grant Burgoyne, Boise:   gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Mark Nye, Pocatello:  mnye@senate.idaho.gov

 

 

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal