Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (221) posts »

AIC District Directors to be Selected at Upcoming Spring District Workshops

Posted By Justin Ruen, Wednesday, April 11, 2018

District Directors representing regions of the state on the AIC Board of Directors will be selected at the upcoming Spring District Workshops in late April and early May.   You can register for the Spring District Workshops via the AIC website.

Training topics that will be covered at the Spring District Workshops include a review of the 2018 Legislative Session, the municipal budgeting process, crafting effective personnel policies and understanding planning and zoning. 

The Spring District Workshops will be held from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the following locations:

Monday, April 23:            Chubbuck at Idaho Central Credit Union—District 5

Tuesday, April 24:           Idaho Falls at Hilton Garden Inn—District 6

Wednesday, April 25:      Burley at Best Western Burley Inn—District 4

Thursday, April 26:          Nampa at Nampa Civic Center—District 3

Tuesday, May 1:              Moscow at Best Western Plus University Inn—District 2

Wednesday, May 2:         Coeur d’Alene at Best Western Plus CDA Inn—District 1

The District Caucuses for selecting the District Directors will be held at 12:30 p.m. during the lunch break.

At the request of the elected officials in District 3A, their caucus will be held in May at a time that will be more convenient and the District 3A caucus is currently being scheduled.

In 2016, the AIC Bylaws were amended to provide that nomination and election of AIC Board District Directors take place at the Spring District Workshops.  The primary reason for the Bylaw change was to allow more AIC member cities to participate in the nomination and election of AIC Board District Directors.

Article IV, Section 5 of the AIC Bylaws states:

Candidates for District Director shall be elected at each Spring District Meeting.  The District Director whose term has not yet expired shall officiate at the Spring District Meeting and oversee the election of the new District Director.  In the event that the terms of both District Directors are complete, the President will appoint an official for the Spring District Meeting to oversee the election. Each elected official present at the District Caucus is allowed one vote.  Non-elected city employees are not allowed to vote.  The presiding board member shall call for nominations.  Elected officials not present, but eligible, may be nominated with prior consent of the nominee.  Self-nominations are also allowed.  After all nominations are made, each nominee may say a few words or may submit a brief written statement in support of his/her candidacy.  After each nominee has had an opportunity to speak, votes shall be cast, either by voice or in writing.  If there is a tie, the presiding District Director shall break the tie.

The AIC Board includes two elected officials from each district, with District Directors serving alternating two-year terms.  Normally, one District Director is elected each year, unless the other District Director position is vacant, in which case board members to fill both positions would be selected at the caucus.  The District Director whose term is not expiring serves as the Presiding District Director at the caucus.  In the event that both director positions are vacant, then an Acting Presider is selected to fill that role.

The process of selecting District Directors begins with the Presiding District Director calling for nominations.  People not present, but eligible, may be nominated.  Self-nominations are also allowed.  After nominations have been made, each nominee may choose to say a few words.

Voting may be either by voice vote or written ballots.  Each elected official present at the caucus is allowed one vote.  For example, if the mayor and four councilmembers from one city are present, they each may cast one vote for a total of five votes from that city.  Only elected officials are allowed to vote.  The candidate receiving the most votes is elected.  If there is a tie, the Presiding District Director shall break the tie.

2018 Presiding District Directors

District 1: Shelby Rognstad—Mayor, Sandpoint

District 2: Bob Blakey—Councilor, Lewiston

District 3: Darin Taylor—Mayor, Middleton

District 3A: Lauren McLean—Council President, Boise

District 4: Casey Andersen—Councilor, Burley

District 6: Robert “BJ” Berlin—Mayor, Roberts

2018 Positions Up for Election

District 1: Steve Widmyer—Mayor, Coeur d’Alene

District 2: Bill Lambert—Mayor, Moscow

District 3: Diana Thomas—Mayor, Weiser

District 3A: Genesis Milam—Councilor, Meridian

District 4: Bruce Hossfeld—Mayor, Paul

District 5: Kevin England—Mayor, Chubbuck

District 5: VACANT

District 6: Rebecca Casper—Mayor, Idaho Falls

For more information, please contact AIC Executive Director Jess Harrison at or AIC Policy Analyst Justin Ruen at


This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal