Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (263) posts »
 

AIC Asks City Officials to Contact Legislators to Oppose Binding Fact-Finding Bill

Posted By GayDawn Oyler, Monday, February 4, 2019

The Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee will soon be considering a bill that would make the decision of the fact-finding committee in collective bargaining with firefighters’ unions binding upon the city or fire district.

Senate Bill 1038, sponsored by Sen. Grant Burgoyne, D-Boise, would upend the collective bargaining process where cities are required to bargain in good faith over wages, working conditions, and other terms and conditions of employment. 

AIC is joining with the Idaho Fire Chiefs Association and the Idaho State Fire Commissioners Association in opposing Senate Bill 1038 because it obstructs the ability of local elected officials to make crucial decisions about budgeting and service delivery. 

These elected officials have the responsibility to weigh the competing demands and interests: fairness to firefighters and other city employees, determining the levels of service that will be provided, and how to fund these important services. 

Binding fact finding effectively puts an unelected three-member panel in the driver’s seat, which is contrary to the role of local elected officials who are elected by and accountable to their constituents. 

The question raised by Senate Bill 1038 is: what part of the current collective bargaining system that has been in place for decades is broken or needs fixed? 

We ask city officials to contact members of the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee to respectfully ask that they oppose Senate Bill 1038.  The committee members and their emails are listed below.

Sen. Jim L. Patrick, Chair—jpatrick@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad, Vice Chair—jagenbroad@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Fred S. Martin—fmartin@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Todd M. Lakey—tlakey@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Jim Guthrie—jguthrie@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Steven P. Thayn—sthayn@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Mary Souza—msouza@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking—jwardengelking@senate.idaho.gov

Sen. Grant Burgoyne—gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal