Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (338) posts »
 

AIC-Opposed Bill to Preempt City Ordinances Prohibiting use of Electronic Devices while Driving up for Hearing Thursday

Posted By Johanna M. Bell, Monday, February 25, 2019

The House Transportation & Defense Committee will consider legislation at a hearing on Thursday afternoon at 1:30 p.m. that would preempt city ordinances banning the use of handheld wireless electronic devices while driving.

House Bill 77 is sponsored by Rep. Chad Christensen, R-Ammon. 

Prohibiting use of electronic devices while driving is a rare issue that has strong bipartisan support, as evidenced by a recent Idaho Politics Weekly survey that showed 83% of Republicans and 89% of Democrats support such the policy.  The Idaho Politics Weekly survey also showed that large majorities support local governments being able to ban the use of electronic devices while driving if the state fails to adopt such a policy.

There were 4,973 distracted driving crashes in Idaho in 2016, with 64 fatalities and 367 serious injuries, with a combined economic impact of $1.1 billion.  This is a public safety problem that must be addressed, and cities are right to try to protect their communities by raising the profile on this important issue.

We ask city officials to contact members of the House Transportation & Defense Committee to respectfully ask that they oppose House Bill 77.  The committee members and their emails are listed below.

Rep. Joe Palmer, Chair — jpalmer@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Paul E. Shepherd, Vice Chair — pshepherd@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Terry Gestrin — tgestrin@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Clark Kauffman — ckauffman@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Rick D. Youngblood — ryoungblood@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Sage G. Dixon — sdixon@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Steven Harris — sharris@house.idaho.gov

Rep. James Holtzclaw — jholtzclaw@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Jason A. Monks — jmonks@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt — gdemordaunt@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Scott A. Syme — ssyme@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Megan Blanksma — mblanksma@house.idaho.gov

Rep. James S. Addis — jaddis@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Doug Ricks — dricks@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Melissa Wintrow — mwintrow@house.idaho.gov

Rep. John Gannon — jgannon@house.idaho.gov

Rep. Muffy Davis — mdavis@house.idaho.gov 

Rep. Ilana Rubel — irubel@house.idaho.gov

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal