Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (341) posts »
 

Contact Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee to Oppose HB 130aa on Annexation

Posted By Johanna M. Bell, Tuesday, March 19, 2019

On Tuesday, March 19, at 2:00 p.m. the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee will have up for hearing an AIC-opposed bill on annexation, House Bill 130aa (as amended).  We ask city officials to contact committee members and respectfully ask that they oppose the bill.  The committee members and their emails are listed at the bottom of this email. 

House Bill 130aa would restrict cities’ ability to annex, which is essential to cost-effective delivery of infrastructure and services in communities around the state.

  • Changes regarding enclaves may make it more difficult to fill jurisdictional holes, resulting in continued confusion over what local government is responsible for providing services.
  • The bill increases the percentage of property owners required to consent for Category B annexations, allowing a minority of property owners to have veto power over future growth and development of a community.
  • The bill’s right-of-way width requirement is new and would apparently prohibit a city from annexing lands across a road right-of-way greater than 150 feet, which includes most Interstate highways and even some local roads.  This would effectively turn highways into walls for cities that are growing rapidly.

The members of Senate Local Government & Taxation and their office emails and phone numbers are listed below.  

Sen. Jim Rice, Chair 
Email:  jrice@senate.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1423

Sen. C. Scott Grow, Vice Chair 
Email:  sgrow@senate.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1334

Sen. Brent Hill 
Email:  bhill@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1300

Sen. Steve Vick 
Email:  sjvick@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1345

Sen. Kelly Arthur Anthon 
Email:  kanthon@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1327

Sen. Todd M. Lakey 
Email:  tlakey@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1328

Sen. Don Cheatham
Email:  dcheatham@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1338

Sen. Grant Burgoyne 
Email:  gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1409

Sen. Mark Nye
Email:  mnye@senate.idaho.gov
Phone:  (208) 332-1406

 

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal