Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
AIC Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (341) posts »
 

Legislative Alert: Please Ask Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee to Send HB 259 to Amending Order

Posted By Johanna M. Bell, Wednesday, March 20, 2019

On Tuesday, the House voted to pass House Bill 259, which would collect sales and use tax from Internet marketplace facilitators and dedicate that revenue to the state Tax Relief Fund.  

The bill is now headed to the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee and AIC asks city officials to contact committee members to respectfully ask that they send the bill to the amending order.  The committee members and their contact information are shown at the bottom of this email.

House Bill 259 fulfills the important and needed purpose of collecting sales and use tax revenue from Internet marketplace facilitators in accordance with the U.S. Supreme Court’s South Dakota v. Wayfair decision, bringing new sales and use tax revenue to Idaho.  

However, the bill would dedicate all of this new revenue to the state Tax Relief Fund, which would not go through revenue sharing.  The legislation provides no specificity on how this revenue would be used.  The bill also provides that marketplace facilitators would not be required to collect local option sales taxes.

AIC is asking for the bill to go to the amending order so that Sections 4, 5, and 6 could be eliminated, ensuring that sales and use taxes will be collected from Internet marketplace facilitators and the revenue will go through revenue sharing.  

Local governments are facing unprecedented rates of growth in some communities, and most are struggling to fund needed maintenance of their streets and other infrastructure.

It is anticipated that sales and use tax collections from Internet marketplace facilitators will grow into the future, making it very important that this vital source of revenue go through the revenue sharing formula.

The members of the Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee and their office emails and phone numbers are listed below.  

Sen. Jim Rice, Chair

Email:  jrice@senate.idaho.gov

Phone: (208) 332-1423

 

Sen. C. Scott Grow, Vice Chair

Email:  sgrow@senate.idaho.gov

Phone: (208) 332-1334

 

Sen. Brent Hill

Email:  bhill@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1300

 

Sen. Steve Vick

Email:  sjvick@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1345

 

Sen. Kelly Arthur Anthon

Email:  kanthon@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1327

 

Sen. Todd M. Lakey

Email:  tlakey@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1328

 

Sen. Don Cheatham

Email:  dcheatham@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1338

 

Sen. Grant Burgoyne

Email:  gburgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1409

 

Sen. Mark Nye

Email:  mnye@senate.idaho.gov

Phone:  (208) 332-1406

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal