Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
News & Press: People

People July 31, 2015

Monday, August 3, 2015  
Posted by: Gay Dawn Oyler
Share |

Twenty-eight Bingham County high school students received scholarships totaling $15,000 from the Mayoral Scholarship Fund. Partners in the scholarship program include Aberdeen, Blackfoot, Firth, Fort Hall, and Shelley. Recipients of the scholarships were—from Aberdeen High School: Delilah Esparza $500, Klae O’Brien $500, Kyran Palmer $500, and Ethan Simonson $1,000; from Blackfoot High School: Dylan Bird $500, Rachel Cannon $500, Wade Ellis $500, Jared Evans $500, Marissa Johnson $500, Kate Wheeler $500, Kaylee Woodland $500, and Alexandra Yancey $500; from Firth High School: Kylee Bolinder $1,000, Audrey Butler $500, Hannah Esplin $500, Natalie Jolley $500, Kate Kirby $500, Kursten McNeely $500, Lucero Oliva $500,. Mikayla Withers $500, and Addison Yancey $500; from Shelley High School: Rachel Durtschi $500 and Taylor Jolley $500; from Shoshone-Bannock High School: Leticia Ahuatzi $500 and Bree Baker $500; and from Snake River High School: Hayley Lemon $500, Dezarae Sommercorn $500, and Savannah Williams $500. The scholarships were awarded at the Mayoral Gala Ball held in June.


Caldwell first graders are getting an early start to college savings, thanks to a city-run child savings account program. Caldwell Mayor Garret Nancolas created the innovative early education program called “Caldwell Saves 1st.” The program, launched last April, teaches first graders the importance of saving for higher education. Nancolas and his team were selected to be part of a national collaborative that will enhance the Caldwell program and provide a blueprint for other cities to model that will be used nationwide.


Caldwell Police Chief Chris Allgood will retire at the end of the year, two months after marking his 30th anniversary with the Department. He announced his pending departure at a news conference with his family to his right and members of his department lined up behind him. Chief since 2007, Allgood choked up when talking about the men and women of the Caldwell Police Department. “They are my extended family,” he said, voice breaking. “I just want to say thank you.” He said he has no post-retirement plans, but “I am strongly considering running for council this fall.” Allgood’s predecessor, Bob Sobba, served on the Caldwell City Council after stepping down as chief.


Collette Sanders is retiring after almost 25 years of working for the City of Caldwell. Sanders has served in the City’s Recreation and Parks Department throughout her career and currently serves as the Recreation Superintendent. Sanders plans to spend time with her family and travel upon retirement.


Bill Breen is the new Mayor for the City of Hope, replacing Joe Dean, who passed away recently.


Daniel Schock has been appointed to the Kootenai City Council.


Chris Ankeny has been hired as the new Police Chief for the City of Lewiston. Ankeny, 43, hails from Las Vegas, where he served for 22 years, most recently as the head of the Metropolitan Police Department’s Crimes Against Youth and Families Bureau.


Victor City Clerk Valee Wells has resigned as she will be moving away to be closer to her family.


Michelle Smith is the new City Clerk for the City of Victor.




Joe Dean, Mayor of Hope, passed away July 9, 2015, at the age of 59 in Coeur d’Alene. At the memorial held in his honor, he was described as happy-go-lucky, generous, a wonderful example of fatherhood, a get-the-job-done kind of guy. He was portrayed as the man every9one could turn to and depend on. He was known for seeing a need and filling it. He was the kind of man that people liked to be around, and he will be greatly missed.


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal