Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
News & Press: People

AIC Highlights Noteworthy People

Tuesday, November 8, 2016  
Posted by: Gay Dawn Oyler
Share |

Check out noteworthy things being done and honors received by people in Idaho cities around the state.

On October 11, Meridian Mayor Tammy de Weerd presented the 2016 Meridian Stars Awards to a group of deserving individuals and a business within the community during a public ceremony and reception. This annual award recognizes Meridian residents for their commitment to preserving, maintaining and improving the quality of life and safety in their neighborhoods, as well as the broader Meridian community. Award recipients are nominated by a community member. This year’s awards went to: Ken Pierson, Star of the Year – Mayor’s Choice; Dominic Al-Shawaf, Youth of the Year; David Pritchard, Senior of the Year; Joel Howard, Neighbor of the Year; Sentsy, Business of the Year; and Honorable Mentions went to Connie Miller, Kelly Creek & Lochsa Falls HOA Boards, Brent McCurdy, Alana Chapman, Creg Steele, Julie Bokenkamp, Del & Joyce Drake, and Nancy Mann.

Meridian Mayor Tammy de Weerd was recently awarded the 2016 Youth Champion Award by the Idaho Afterschool Network.

The 2016 City of Moscow’s Mayor’s Arts Awards recipients were honored at a gala held on October 27. The Mayor’s Arts Awards are designed to recognize individuals and organizations that have shown substantial support of the arts. Mayor Bill Lambert made the difficult finalist selection from a great nomination pool. The winners are: Outstanding Contributions as a Business – Jamie Knudson, State Farm; Outstanding College or University Student in the Arts – Lauren Rae Smith; Arts Advocacy – Willemina “Willi” Kardong; Outstanding Achievement in Arts Education – Palouse Watercolor Socius; Individual Excellence in the Arts – Gerri Sayler; and Lifetime Achievement in the Arts – Robert Wrigley.

Highland High School senior Kami Wydick was selected to be Pocatello’s Mayor for a Day on November 8.

Courtney Cunningham has joined the Twin Falls Police Department as an Animal Control Officer.

Weston Mayor Layne Harris resigned effective November 1 to pursue other interests.

The Weston City Council elected Councilmember Greg Garner as Council President.

If someone in your community has done something noteworthy or received an honor that you feel should be highlighted in the People section of the newsletter, send the information to GayDawn by e-mail or fax 344-8677.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal