Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Associate Member?
News & Press: People

AIC Highlight Noteworthy People

Friday, January 13, 2017  
Posted by: Gay Dawn Oyler
Share |

Check out noteworthy things being done and honors received by people in Idaho cities around the state.


The Idaho Economic Development Association (IEDA) awarded its Bob Potter Economic Development Professional of the Year Award to Doug Manning, Economic Development Director for the City of Burley. The award is given annually to recognize Idaho’s premier economic development leaders who have made a significant economic development impact in the state and a community.


The City of Jerome recently acknowledged Police Officer Jashell Robinson as the Employee of the Year for 2016.


Ketchum Mayor Nina Jonas appointed Neil Morrow to serve on the Planning and Zoning Commission; Grant Gager, City Director of Finance and Internal Services, to serve on the Mountain Rides Transportation Authority Board; Erin Kelso to serve on the Blaine County Housing Authority; and Gary Lipton to serve on the Ketchum Urban Renewal Agency. The City Council approved all four appointments.


The Pocatello Historic Preservation Commission hosted a presentation by Darren Parry, Vice Chairman of the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation, on the Bear River Massacre that took place in 1863.


High school senior Kate Jackman will be Pocatello’s first Mayor for a Day in 2017 on January 20. She attends the city’s first high school—Pocatello High School. During her term, she will be meeting with leaders from around the community and the City’s departments. Currently on the schedule are meetings with Lynn Transtrum, Building Official, and Dave Hunt, Director of Pocatello Regional Transit. Students chosen to serve as a Mayor for a Day are selected by the school, and a different school is represented each month.


If someone in your community has done something noteworthy or received an honor that you feel should be highlighted in the People section of the newsletter, send the information to GayDawn by e-mail or fax 344-8677.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal